Financial Aid

  • There is an abundance of suggestions on how best to finance college.  We have attempted to provide a starting point from which students and their parents can begin to navigate this information.

    • Federal Aid - Most students should begin the financial aid process by completing a Free Application for Federal Student Aid(FAFSA).  This application will determine a student's eligibility for all types of federal aid: grants, work-study, and loans.  Visit the FAFSA website to begin the application process.
    • Scholarships - A list of local and national scholarships is available in the guidance office and is updated regularly.  Students should check it frequently as new opportunities arise throughout the year.  Here is a listing of some of the local scholarships available annually:


       Freeburg Rotary Vocational Scholarship:  A vocational scholarship awarded by the Freeburg Rotary Club.  Applicant must plan to attend a North Central Association accredited Business School, vocational school, or community college. Winners are selected by a committee chosen from the Freeburg Rotary Club.  $1,000


      Freeburg Rotary “Service Above Self” Scholarship: A general scholarship offered by the Freeburg Rotary Club to a FCHS graduate who plans to attend a 4 year college or university.  Community /school service, and intellectual excellence are major criteria for this award.  $1,000


       St. Clair County Scholarship:  $500 to the highest ACT composite score in St. Clair County. In the event of a tie, the scholarship will be split with each individual winner getting at least $100.


       St. Clair County Comment Scholarship:   The FCHS Guidance Dept. & Administration nominate one senior candidate for this County wide scholarship.  Award criteria are based on financial need, size of household, academic success, and other criteria that have set the nominee apart from others. Winners are chosen by a panel of administrators from St. Clair County.  Income tax form is required from family.  Award is $1,000 and is renewable 3 times.


       Freeburg Optimist Club Scholarship: Awarded by the Optimist Club of Freeburg in memory of Martha Ruth Borger and Lucille Davis.  A general scholarship based on, but not limited to: community service / volunteer activities, extracurricular activities, and leadership positions held. Award is $1,000.


      Hamilton Herman Scholarship:  Two vocational scholarships awarded to FCHS seniors who plan a career in vocational education.  Seniors are nominated from the Industrial Arts and  Business & Technology departments with the general faculty of FCHS making the final selection.  Awards are $500 and will be sent to the school of attendance.   


      Imagine America Scholarship:  Each year FCHS is allowed to award two $1,000 scholarships to students who plan to attend one of the 318 private career colleges participating in the Imagine America Program. ( Ranken does not participate.)  Scholarship awards are on a first come, first served basis.  Students who apply early to a vocational program are informed by the admissions department from the individual institution that they participate in the Imagine America Scholarship program and that the scholarship is available to them.  The student requests the scholarship and the application is then forwarded to the FCHS guidance department where it is completed and returned to the institution on-line. Students are awarded the scholarship if they meet the requirements (which are minimal) and demonstrate financial need. 


       Lucash Scholarship:  Awarded to each senior who attends a 2 or 4 year college or trade school.  Students must show proof of attendance in August/September of their first semester after graduation from FCHS.  Amount varies from year to year dependent on the market return of the fund.  Normally amounts are between $400 - $500.  Money is sent directly to the institution of attendance.  Applications are given to all FCHS seniors in May of their senior year.


       The Seibert Foundation Scholarship:   This is a full tuition scholarship to SWIC for 1 FCHS graduate.  Seniors must apply on-line to the SWIC Foundation Scholarship website. The winner is chosen based on, but not limited to: GPA, rank in class, participation in extracurricular activities, leadership, and character.


       Top 10% Scholarship from SWIC:  Seniors who, after 8 semesters, are ranked in the top 10% of their graduating class receive one free semester of tuition from SWIC.


      Smithton Commercial Club Scholarship:   Minimum of one scholarship awarded to a FCHS graduating senior who has resided in the Smithton grade school district for a minimum of 2 years.  The amount of the scholarship is based on the number of scholarships awarded.  Minimum award is $500.


      The SAR (Sons of the American Revolution) Scholarship:  A $500 scholarship awarded to a FCHS senior boy who best exemplifies the characteristics of patriotism and leadership.  Nominees and winner is selected by the FCHS faculty.

    There are also many online scholarship search services available.  Students should be very hesitant of any search service that requires a fee for use.  We recommend starting your search by using the sites below:



    • Freeburg Community High School District 77 Foundation - A number of memorial scholarships are available to graduating seniors who are planning on attending college.  The application process is directed by the Superintendent's office and awards are presented at the Honors Night each May.  Students should listen for announcements as to when these applications become available.
    Leroy E. and Ferrol M. Bauer Scholarship: A FCHS Foundation Scholarship.  An award will be made to one male and one female FCHS senior who have                             displayed academic and athletic excellence throughout the career.  The award winners will be selected by the FCHS Foundation Scholarship Selection Committee.  


    L.W. Baumgarte Memorial Vocational Scholarship: A FCHS Foundation Scholarship.   A single $1,000 scholarship for a FCHS Industrial Arts/Vocational student.  Winner is chosen by the FCHS Foundation Scholarship Committee.    


    Otto B Johnson, Sr. Memorial Scholarship:  A FCHS Foundation Scholarship.  Awarded to a senior student who is a resident of St. Libory and a graduate of St. Libory Grade School. Applicants are required to have a minimum GPA of 3.0.  The award winner will be selected by the FCHS Foundation Scholarship Selection Committee. 


    Clyde Pruett Memorial Scholarship: A FCHS Foundation Scholarship.  The scholarship is available to any graduating senior from FCHS.  Part of the criteria includes the individual’s potential to succeed in college and financial need.  Nominees must have a minimum GPA of 3.25/5.00 and have been awarded at least one varsity letter earned through athletic participation.  The FCHS Foundation Scholarship Selection Committee will review all applicants and interview finalists.  The winner will be announced at the Honors Banquet held in May.  $500


    Jennifer Reitzell Memorial Scholarship:  A FCHS Foundation Scholarship.  A scholarship given to a senior in honor of Jennifer Reitzell, a 2005 graduate who was killed in a tragic car accident the night of graduation. Applicants must have a minimum GPA of 3.0.  Winner will be selected by the FCHS Foundation Scholarship Selection Committee. Award is $1,000.

    Eugene and Myrtke Sanders Memorial Scholarship: A $1000 one-time award will be given to a graduating senior enrolling full-time in a four year university interested in studying Science or Engineering.

    Andrew Lehman Memorial Scholarhip: A graduating senior who plans on enrolling full-time in college will receive a one-time award of $500.  Consideration will be given to academic record, community involvement, career plans, and financial need.